Bleak House
Bleak House

Bleak House Introduction

by Charles Dickens

Bleak House is the ninth novel by Charles Dickens, published in twenty monthly installments between March 1852 and September 1853. It is held to be one of Dickens’s finest novels, containing one of the vastest, most complex, and most engaging arrays of minor characters and sub-plots in his entire canon. The story is told partly by the novel’s heroine, Esther Summerson, and partly by an omniscient narrator. Memorable characters include the menacing lawyer Tulkinghorn, the friendly, but depressive John Jarndyce, and the childish and disingenuous Harold Skimpole, as well as the likable but imprudent Richard Carstone.

Bleak House PREFACE

Bleak House CHAPTER I - In Chancery

Bleak House CHAPTER II - In Fashion

Bleak House CHAPTER III - A Progress

Bleak House CHAPTER IV - Telescopic Philanthropy

Bleak House CHAPTER V - A Morning Adventure

Bleak House CHAPTER VI - Quite at Home